Nairobi, Friday 1st March, 2019
By David Mukara

It’s all systems go for the Kenya Film Commission’s national script writing competition as ICT Cabinet Secretary Joe Mucheru unveiled the names of judges who will go through the 546 submissions and come with winners in the three categories of evaluation.

The Jury of nine comprises of renowned names in the local film industry and includes script writers, producers, and directors.

The CS assured of the government commitment to ensure that economic potential of the film industry is tapped, citing projects such as Sinema Mashinani and Studio Mashinani implemented by Kenya Film Classification Board and Kenya Broadcasting Corporation respectively.

He thanked the County governments who have shown support for the industry including Kwale County for sponsoring five students to the Kenya Film School and Machakos County which held its inaugural Machawood festival last year.

The CS said the Ministry is working collaboratively with the Chinese government on areas such as film co-production and film marketing, including marketing the country as a key filming destination.

The ministry also plans to establish a Film City, similar to the one found in Mumbai India. This will provide facilities and other production requirements at a concessionary rates lowering film production costs in the country.
The jury is comprised of Njoki Muhoho, a film maker and Academy Director for the Multichoice Talent Factory, Dr. Fredrick Mbogo , Senior Lecturer at Technical University of Kenya, a scriptwriter and actor, Mona Ombogo, an author and script writer, Eston Munyi, a lecturer at Kenya Institute of Mass Communication, Eugene Mbugua, a writer, Producer and Director, Victoria Goro, a Deputy Director and film lecturer at Kenya Film School. Others are Appie Matere who is a Film Producer and Director, Ann Hamberger who is a Film Producer and actress and Reuben Odanga a Film Director at Multan Production.

The categories include the best script which will be awarded Shs 1 million for first runner-up, Shs. 500,000 for the 2nd runner-up, then the Best Student Writer (under 25years) category attracting a cash prize of Shs. 100,000, and the best young writer (18 years and below) category whose winner will take home Shs.10,000.

The jury will go through the 546 submissions and shortlist 20 of them based on story originality, structure, characterization, visual inventiveness and overall viability.

The winners will be unveiled on 25th April 2019.